RDPAC Announces New Leadership


On December 14th, The R&D-based Pharmaceutical Association Committee (RDPAC) announced its new Executive Committee Members. After the election process among members, 13 member company leaders were elected as RDPAC Executive Committee Members, including 1 Chairman, 3 Vice Chairmen and 9 members, whose term of service is from 2018 to 2019.


The new Executive Committee Members are:



Jean-Christophe POINTEAU / Sanofi


Vice Chairman:

Hong CHOW / Roche

Renaud GABAY / Abbott

WU Xiaobing / Pfizer



CHEN Weidong / Chugai Pharma

Jo FENG / AstraZeneca

Rogier JANSSENS / Merck Serono

JIANG Wei / Bayer


Dirk van NIEKERK / Boehringer Ingelheim

Asgar RANGOONWALA / Xian Janssen


YIN Xudong / Novartis


(Members listed alphabetically by their last name)


The new RDPAC Executive Committee will lead various work of the association. RDPAC members will continuously provide high-quality and innovative healthcare products and service to Chinese patients, support the development of a sustainable ecosystem for drug innovation in China, and committed to be a valued partner in delivering the “Healthy China” goal to improve the health and quality of life of the people in China.


 “RDPAC believes that the new Executive Committee members’ extensive experience, strong leadership and insights about the Chinese pharmaceutical industry will help it to develop a more forward-looking strategic plan and enhance the efficiency of the organization,” said Eric Bouteiller, the RDPAC 2016-17 Chairman and now Honorary Chairman of RDPAC.


“I would like to thank all RDPAC members for their trust and support.” said Jean-Christophe Pointeau, the new RDPAC Chairman. “For me, the chairmanship is not just an honor, but a responsibility. I hope to become the leader and ‘ambassador’ of RDPAC, joining hands with all member companies to foster social responsibility and industry development while growing our own businesses. We aim to partner with the government to bring innovative and quality medicines to benefit more patients in China and actively contribute to the Healthy China strategy.”


The R&D-based Pharmaceutical Association Committee (RDPAC) is a committee of the China Association of Enterprises with Foreign Investment (CAEFI). It is a non-profit organization made up of 41 member companies with pharmaceutical R&D capabilities. Between them, RDPAC members have 52 plants and 30 R&D centers in China. They invest over RMB 8 billion per year in R&D in China.

Related articles: